It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year…for Baking

Christmas_cookie_stack

I kicked off my Christmas countdown with a viewing of one of my favorite holiday movies, Love Actually, on Thanksgiving night after a day of playing in the snow and eating way too much good food. December is here and the decorations are up in my apartment, so now it is time to turn up the Christmas music and get baking!

The holidays are some of the best times for baking because so many events revolve around food. I’ve been getting some inspiration from watching the Holiday Baking Championship on the Food Network, which speaks to my love of food competition shows and my sweet tooth. It’s a winning combination that gets me in a baking mood.

Traditional buche de noel

Traditional buche de noel

I don’t have many traditions when it comes to Christmas baking. I usually will make some cookies and sometimes I go to my aunt’s house to help her family decorate all of the cookies they make. For Christmas dinner the dessert usually varies. This year, I am looking forward to trying out some new recipes. Last year I was in France for Christmas and made a buche de noel (yule log) with the family I was with. The springy rolled cake was surprisingly easy to make and was really delicious. I’m planning to make some version of it again this year and maybe get a little more creative with decorating it as well.

Here are some holiday recipes (133 of them!) to get you started this season from the Brown Eyed Baker, conveniently organized into categories.

Photo by Nathan2055 and photo by Jebulon, published under a Creative Commons license. Some rights reserved. 

Leave a Reply

