Forgetting the Traditional Desserts this Thanksgiving

IMG_3565

The countdown is on to Thanksgiving! I am looking forward to taking a little break from all of the work I have and enjoying some good food with some great people.

I came across this post a few days ago from the Huffington Post with some non-traditional dessert suggestions. I’m always torn when somebody suggests changing up my traditions. For years I would always watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and make pumpkin muffins on Thanksgiving morning, and the day after was for putting up the Christmas decorations. Once I even tried the “tradition” of not eating anything on Thanksgiving until the big meal. That was a tradition I chose not to continue. So suggesting non-traditional desserts gives me pause. Trust me, when you see what this list has to offer you’ll be saying pumpkin pie who? The caramel apple blondie cheesecake and rosemary corn cake with honey & brown butter frosting look particularly delicious.

I will be making an apple pie for Thanksgiving this year, as I usually do. (There will be a post, so check back for that). If I wasn’t going to a meal at someone else’s house, I would add one of these recipes to my menu. Lucky for me, these are desserts that can be enjoyed at any time, so I’ll just add them to my “to-bake” list instead.

The full list will inspire you to start a new tradition. Happy feasting!

Photo by Jessica McWeeney. 

One thought on “Forgetting the Traditional Desserts this Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

