The Pumpkin Recipes Begin with Pumpkin Maple Coffee Cake

 

20141108_171841

What better way to spend a Saturday afternoon than by enjoying the scent of cinnamon and pumpkin wafting through my apartment? Today was a beautiful, sunny day, but with a distinctive bite in the air that reminds me that winter is not far away. That, and the fact that it’s dark by 5:00 p.m.

I am finally beginning to embrace that holiday baking season is upon me, and with that, I give you my first pumpkin flavored recipe: Pumpkin Maple Coffee Cake. It’s as good as it sounds and combines the best of fall flavors, with cinnamon complementing the pumpkin and just a hint of maple thrown in.

20141108_163009The cake is a little heavy, definitely not a light sponge cake, but I like the hearty nature of it. (It’s helping me gear up for the cold months ahead.) The recipe is quite easy to put together, just throw all the ingredients in a bowl and mix it up. I wish the pumpkin flavor has been more pronounced with this cake. It only called for 1/2 a cup of pumpkin (about half a can of pumpkin puree) and when I make it again I would probably just add the whole thing. The batter was quite thick as well, so I think the extra liquid from the pumpkin might help to lighten the cake up some. I also might add a little bit of cloves and nutmeg to really give the cake a spiced flavor.

I also can’t seem to make a crumb topping correctly. I followed the instructions, but my ingredients ended up joining together, so instead of being crumbly, it was more globs of butter. I tried my best to break it up as I put it on top of the cake. Clearly, I need some crumb-making tips.

Overall, a good fall-themed recipe that will make your house smell amazing (and that’s half of the point of baking anyway). Be sure to enjoy your piece with a cup of tea, or coffee, since it is coffee cake.

Here is the recipe from Lovin’ from the Oven.

 Ingredients20141108_193816

  • 1 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 2/3 cup of buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin (or try adding the whole can)
  • 1/3 cup of canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons of maple syrup
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • I would add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1/2 teaspoon each of nutmeg and cloves to the batter

Topping

  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons cold butter
  • 1/4 cup of pecans, chopped (optional)

Directions 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, baking soda, buttermilk, canned pumpkin, canola oil, maple syrup and eggs. Mix until just moistened.
  3. For the topping. In a small bowl combine brown sugar, granulated sugar, ground cinnamon, cold butter and pecans. Mix well with a fork until crumbly.
  4. Pour half of the batter in a 9×7 pan. Sprinkle with half of the topping. Spoon the remaining batter over the top, using a spatula to spread evenly. Sprinkle the remaining topping evenly.
  5. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. (Mine took 40 minutes).

Photos by Jessica McWeeney. 

One thought on “The Pumpkin Recipes Begin with Pumpkin Maple Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

