What to do with leftover baking ingredients

There are a few baking stables that I always have on hand; flour, sugar, baking powder, eggs. These ingredients are used in so many recipes and the great part is that they last for a long time so you don’t have to worry about using them up too quickly. When I find a new recipe I want to make, chances are there will be a few ingredients on the list that I won’t have at home. A few of the most common ones are buttermilk and heavy cream. They are often used in recipes, but aren’t something I have regularly. Most recipes only call for a small amount of these ingredients, so when I’m finished I’m stuck with leftovers. Sometimes I make my own buttermilk, if I haven’t planned ahead or don’t want the extra.

This is what happened to me last weekend when I made this delicious blueberry lemon cake. I wanted to use up some of my buttermilk and decided to make cinnamon scones. I used this recipe from Coffee and Tea on about.com. The scones are simple and made with basic ingredients I had on hand (which I always love). I wanted to fancy this recipe up a little, so I added a cinnamon sugar topping from The Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon scones recipe. Definitely a good decision.

IMG_3505

I also threw together some buttermilk biscuits, which is one of the first things that comes to mind when trying to come up with uses for buttermilk. These are just a few ideas of what to make to use up these baking leftovers. Check out this list from the Huffington Post for more ideas.

IMG_3510

Cinnamon Scones

IMG_3507

Ingredients

Dough

  • 2 c. all purpose flour (For best results, sift or spoon the flour into the measuring cup.)
  • 1/3 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) cold butter
  • 1 whisked egg
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c. milk, buttermilk or half-and-half

Topping

  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon Heavy Cream

Prep Time: 10 minutes Cook Time: 15 minutes

Total Time: 25 minutes Makes: 12 scones

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt).
  3. Use a pastry cutter to cut in the butter. You can also just use two forks to help cut and blend the butter. The mixture is done when it resembles coarse cornmeal.
  4. Add the whisked egg and vanilla extract. Do not stir yet.
  5. With minimal stirring, mix in just enough milk, buttermilk or half-and-half to make the dough stick together. It will be crumbly and there should still be a little bit of dry flour left in the mixing bowl.
  6. Turn the dough out on a heavily floured cutting board. (Using a cutting board makes for easier cleanup)
  7. Knead the dough slightly. When it is done, it should be easy to handle and smooth.
  8. Gently pat the dough to two 1–inch thick discs.
  9. In a small bowl, mix together the topping ingredients.
  10. Spread the cinnamon sugar topping onto dough, pressing down.
  11. Cut each disc into 6 pieces.
  12. Transfer the scones to a buttered or parchment-lined baking sheet and bake in preheated 400-degree oven for 15-20 minutes or until lightly golden.
  13. Cool on the baking sheet.

Photos by Jessica McWeeney. 

Leave a Reply

